Three Bulldogs Qualify for State Wrestling


On Saturday, three Alliance wrestlers punched their ticket to state after placing at the District competition. Jaxon Minnick, Asa Johnson and Matthew Escamilla are set to represent Alliance at the state tournament starting on Thursday in Omaha. As a team, Alliance placed seventh out of 12 teams. Below are the results from the Class B District Four meet:


106: Champ. Round 1: Tyler Cotton, of Alliance, received a bye. Quarterfinal: John Stanley, of Gothenburg, won against Tyler Cotton (Fall 1:47). Cons. Round 2: Tyler Cotton received a bye. Cons. Round 3: Kole Nielsen, of Minden, won against Tyler Cotton.

113: Champ. Round 1: Tory Picket Pin, of Alliance, won by major decision against Julian Stiver, of McCook. Quarterfinal: Austin Munier, of Sidney, won against Tory Picket Pin (Fall 0:49). Cons. Round 2: Tory Picket Pin received a bye. Cons. Round 3: Tory Picket Pin won against Jayson Simpson, of Minden (Fall 4:21). Cons. Semi: Brayden Schmalz, of Holdrege, won against Tory Picket Pin (Fall 4:24).

120: Champ. Round 1: Ian Erickson, of Alliance, won against Sawyer Therrien, of Gothenburg (Fall 1:09). Quarterfinal: Paul Garcia, of Scottsbluff, won against Ian Erickson (Fall 1:45). Cons. Round 2: Ian Erickson won by major decision against Max Mueller, of Ogallala. Cons. Round 3: Ian Erickson won against Eric Vahrenkamp, of Chadron (Fall 2:37). Cons. Semi: Evan Smith, of Minden, won by major decision against Ian Erickson.

126: Champ. Round 1: Tyler Nagel, of Gering, won against Zane Stoike, of Alliance (Fall 0:55). Cons. Round 1: Zane Stoike received a bye. Cons. Round 2: Tanner Ostrander, of Ogallala, won against Zane Stoike (Fall 2:00).

132: Quarterfinal: Jaxon Minnick, of Alliance, won against Kolby Denke, of Chadron (Fall 1:11). Semifinal: Jaxon Minnick won against Jacob Peckham, of Sidney. First-Place Match: Nathaniel Murillo, of Gering, won against Jaxon Minnick (Fall 4:48). Minnick placed second.

138: Champ. Round 1: Asa Johnson, of Alliance, won against Kevin Sandoval, of Lexington (Fall 1:18). Quarterfinal: Asa Johnson won against Blake Wyatt, of Ogallala (Fall 3:06). Semifinal: Asa Johnson won against Brecken Loftin, of Cozad (Fall 1:21). First-Place Match: Nate Rocheleau, of Gering, won against Asa Johnson. Johnson placed second.

145: Champ. Round 1: Albert Stone, of Gering, won against Keagen Bass, of Alliance (Fall 1:28). Cons. Round 1: Keagen Bass received a bye. Cons. Round 2: Keagen Bass won against Bredan Libich, of Gothenburg (Fall 2:29). Cons. Round 3: Tate Felber, of McCook, won against Keagen Bass (Fall 1:55).

152: Champ. Round 1: Jameson Smith, of Gothenburg, won against Nolan Nagaki, of Alliance. Cons. Round 1: Nolan Nagaki received a bye. Cons. Round 2: Dakota Haines, of Lexington, won against Nolan Nagaki (Fall 3:48).

160: Champ. Round 1: Philip Halstead, of Alliance, received a bye. Quarterfinal: Riley Baker, of Gothenburg, won against Philip Halstead. Cons. Round 2: Rene Corado, of Lexington, won against Philip Halstead.

170: Champ. Round 1: Keegan Grant, of Alliance, won against Zac Haug, of Chadron (Fall 0:29). Quarterfinal: Brady Robb, of Sidney, won against Keegan Grant (Fall 1:02). Cons. Round 2: Keegan Grant received a bye. Cons. Round 3: Keegan Grant won against Eli Boryca, of Cozad (Fall 2:03). Cons. Semi: Isaiah Young, of Gothenburg, won against Keegan Grant (Fall 1:55).

182: Champ. Round 1: Waylon Cash, of Alliance, received a bye. Quarterfinal: Trenton Peterson, of Gothenburg, won against Waylon Cash, of Alliance (Fall 5:25). Cons. Round 2: Waylon Cash received a bye. Cons. Round 3: Daulton Kuehn, of Minden, won against Waylon Cash (Fall 2:18).

195: Champ. Round 1: Matthew Escamilla, of Alliance, received a bye. Quarterfinal: Matthew Escamilla won against Jordan Cole, of Minden (Fall 3:39). Semifinal: Imanol Munoz, of Holdrege, won by major decision against Matthew Escamilla. Cons. Semi: Matthew Escamilla won against Bo Edmond, of Ogallala (Fall 1:52). Third-Place Match: Matthew Escamilla won against Ismael Ayala, of Lexington (Fall 2:41). Escamilla placed third.

285: Champ. Round 1: Hunter Klinkerman, of Alliance, received a bye. Quarterfinal: Colton Donason, of Ogallala, won against Hunter Klinkerman. Cons. Round 2: Hunter Klinkerman received a bye. Cons. Round 3: Ethan Libich, of Gothenburg, won against Hunter Klinkerman (Fall 3:43).