A-Club Honors Local Athletes



Alliance Times-Herald


The school year has come to an end and with that the Annual A-Club Banquet took place Tuesday evening. Following a meal with athletes, parents, coaches and honored guests the group filled the Performing Arts Center to recognize each sport, outstanding athletes and even a few life-long sport supporters.

Fall Sports athletes were recognized including Football-Coach Seebohm, Volleyball-Coach Kaiser, Girls Golf-Coach Sautter, Boys Tennis-Coach Blankenship, Cross Country-Coach Lanik, Softball- Coach Palomo.

Honorary A-Club Member 2018-2019 was awarded to Brenda Schrum. Schrum has been a life-long Bulldog supporter. She may seem like she is behind the scenes, simply driving the bus for these athletes to get to and from games safely, but she is much more than that. She supports the students, watches their games – with great enthusiasm – and “loves all the kids are her own,” she commented after walking to the stage to receive her award. Those in attendance rose to their feet to give her the standing ovation that she deserved.

Tom Cyza was awarded the Charles J. Sherlock Senior Citizen Booster Award. Although, unable to attend the event, his daughter Emerson accepted the award on her father’s behalf. Cyza is a die hard fan and is always willing to help out the athletic department any way he can, even if its just standing on the sideline cheering on the athletes.

Winter Sports including Wrestling- Coach Myers, Boys Basketball-Coach Baker, Girls Basketball-Coach Unzicker, Unified Bowling-Coach Mangas and Cheerleading Danielle Swanson were then recognized for their season achievements.

Outstanding A-Club Member was awarded to Mason Hiemstra. The A-Club Scholarship was awarded to Madison Gibson. The Mike Garwood Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Blythe Boness and Cade Stephenson. The Amy Stephens Scholarship was awarded to Ryley Rolls. Rolls also was awarded the Western Conference Student Activities Scholarship along with Cade Stephenson.

Springs wrapped up the sporting events and included Boys Golf-Coach Whitney, Girls Tennis- Coach Brock, Boys Track- Coach Lanik and Girls Track- Coach Lanik.

Wrapping up the evening was a few more awards, including athletes of the year. Mason Hiemstra was awarded the 3-D Sports Award, Special Recognition, and named Boy Athlete of the Year. Ryley Rolls was named Girl Athlete of the Year.