Little Hoop Takes First in Young Poets Contest

Little Hoop Takes First in Young Poets Contest


The John G. Neihardt Foundation is pleased to announce the winners of the Young Poets contest for 2019. First place winners were Uriah Little Hoop from Alliance High School and Clara Kendrick from Irving Middle School in Lincoln.

Second places were Grace Anderson from Gordon-Rushville High School and Jude Kroeze from Irving Middle School in Lincoln. Third places were Josie Shadbolt of Gordon-Rushville High School and Aecho Heaton from Omaha Nation Public School in Macy.

We received a total of 140 entries from across the state, and each entry was judged blind (judges were given the poem and author age category only) and it was difficult to narrow each category down to three places. Entries are judged on originality and a sense of the craft of poetry, must be original, unpublished, and not submitted or accepted elsewhere for publication or broadcast, and not

entered simultaneously in another competition. Poems must be approved and submitted by a teacher. Each year the Neihardt Foundation offers this contest to public, parochial, and home based schools across Nebraska, the southeastern portion of South Dakota, and northwestern portion of Iowa to honor the legacy of the state’s Poet Laureate in Perpetuity and to encourage young people to explore

poetry. Winners receive a cash prize of $50, $25, or $15 as well as have their work published in the quarterly newsletter, The Word Sender. The mailing of entry forms for the 2020 contest will be October 2019. To request being put on the mailing list for next year’s contest information, call, write, or e-mail. Call 888-777- 4667 or 402-648-3388;, Neihardt State Historic Site, Box

344, Bancroft, NE 68004. We encourage you to visit us in Bancroft, check out our website for upcoming events, and like us on Facebook.