The Alliance High School One Act Team presented Allison Williams’ one act comedy “Hamlette” at the Class B-6 District competition in Sidney Nov. 30 placing sixth.

The AHS cast and crew competed against seven other schools. Gordon-Rushville took first place, and advances to the NSAA State Play Production Championship today in Norfolk at the Johnny Carson Theatre.

Three judges score each performance by points and submit their respective rankings. Alliance received a 54 from judge 3, 52 from judge 2 and a 51 from judge 1. The later two ranked AHS 6th and judge 3, 8th. Results also listed the team’s reciprocal as 0.45833.

Alliance High’s theatre program has enjoyed consistency and success under the guidance of Mary Theresa Green, director of this year’s one act and the school’s previous fall plays. AHS has won two State Class B championships in the past decade — “Romeo You Idiot” (2009) and “I’m Not Ebenenezer Scrooge” (2011) when AHS actor Colin Cox also took Outstanding Male Performer honors. Those plays were bookended by a second-place state showing in 2010 (“Persephone”) and a third-place effort the next season with “Dark of the Moon.” Not long after AHS added the Performing Arts Center the one-act program hosted and competed in the Class A districts.

Play selection takes into account talent, number of students interested and other factors. Green has selected plays ranging from the dark end of the spectrum to comedies for the stage.

In addition to three public performances and district competition the play was part of WESTCO’s annual meeting Monday.

Hamlette’s scenes vary between live action and game show segments.

Hamlette is played by Brielle Alwin, Mareesa Buskirk — host/referee, Laura Nieseler — Barnardo, Josefine Schnell — Francisco, Tristan Bleisch — Horatio, Caleb Garcia — ghost, Chloe Blumanthal — Queen, Owen Weber — King, Stephen Reid — Laertes, Allexis Rolstadt — Polonius, Darian Wilson — Ophelia, McKenna Ruffing — Player (Game Show Host), and Alaysha Engelhaupt — Second Player (Contestant).

The Ensemble included Trena Ackerman, Colin Bartels, Carson Cottrell, Noah Drew, Ashlynn Gosnell and Adriana Soto.

Ensemble Dancers were Brianna Krebs and Da’Nautica Thomas, and musicians were Keyra Klein and Aubrey Garrett, who composed the music.

Katelynn Minich and Kat Kuzmic ran the spotlights, and Jensen Curtiss the light board.

Directors were Green and Elaine Bleisch, with Brayla Alwin as the Rehearsal Assistant.

Recommended for you